Distinguished Research Award:

To acknowledge members who have made significant contributions by providing path-breaking research to the discipline.

2022: Dr. Igor Linkov (US Army Engineer Research and Development Center (ERDC), USA )

2021: Dr. Stephane Hallegatte (The World Bank, USA)

2020: Prof. Hirokazu Tatano (DPRI, Kyoto University, Japan)

2019: Ilan Noy (Victoria University of Wellington )

2018: Stephanie Chang (University of British Columbia)

2017: Joanne Linnerooth-Bayer (IIASA) and Ortwin Renn (Institute for Advanced Sustainability Studies)

2016: Ben Wisner (University College London, UK)

2015: Bijay Anand Misra (School of Architecture and Planning, New Delhi) and Adam Rose (University of Southern California)

2014: Kathleen Tierney (University of Colorado-Boulder)

2013: David Alexander (University College London)

2012: Norio Okada (Kyoto University, DPRI)